In the state of Mississippi, all drivers must comply with the minimum automobile insurance requirements. This fulfills their financial responsibility as a registered driver. As Mississippi is a fault state, the driver who caused the accident is deemed at fault and financially responsible for medical coverage and property damage sustained in the accident. However, if he or she is unable due to noncompliance, their county of residence has the option to impose fines. Victims who are injured in accidents where the at-fault driver was uninsured should contact Lawyers in Gulfport MS.
Mississippi Automobile Insurance Requirements
The minimum requirements imply that the driver possesses $25,000 of coverage for each individual who is injured in an automobile accident. The policy provides $50,000 to cover accidents when more than one individual is injured. It also provides $25,000 for property damage.
Any driver who is discovered without automobile insurance after an accident or during any routine traffic stop is subject to fines of no more than $1,000 and possible license suspension. If they are at fault for the accident, they receive the full weight of the medical and auto repair costs for the victim. This leaves them open to actionable territory, by failing to comply with the law.
Limitations for Personal Injuries
Any victim who was injured due to no fault of their own are limited to a three-year window to file a lawsuit against the individual who caused their accident. This begins on the day of the accident. Alternately, if the victim shares the fault, the court rules based on a shared-fault basis. This will reduce the amount of the settlement in which he or she could receive for injuries and property damage.
If he or she is guilty of a traffic violation that contributed to the accident he or she is also at fault. However, if the victim was guilty of DUI, it is likely that he or she will not receive a settlement due to this criminal offense. Any accident in which it is alleged that the victim was at a shared fault, he or she should consult Holder Law Group PLLC for further assistance.